Thursday, October 20, 2016

Review: Beast of All by J.C. McKenzie

Beast of All
Release Date: October 19, 2016
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press
Carus Book #5
ISBN13:  9781509210046
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Review Copy Source: Author

“Two months ago my world collapsed and the beast reigned.
Seven weeks ago the SRD captured me.
Nine days ago, they injected me with something vile.
Today, I break free.
And tomorrow?
I’ll make them pay.”

Badass Shifter Andy McNeilly wakes up from a horrible nightmare, only to discover it wasn’t a dream, and she’s no longer quite so badass. Chemically curbed, Andy has lost touch with her feras and beast when she needs them most. Can she regain control of her supernatural abilities in time to reap retribution from her enemies, or will she fall as fodder in a power play for control of Vancouver’s seedy underworld?

What an ending! I'm glad J.C. reached out to me a few years ago to review SHIFT HAPPENS and continued to reach out to me with each release after that.

I was EXTREMELY confused when I started reading BEAST OF ALL. I felt like I missed a lot and had to go back to SHIFT WORK and make sure it ended like I thought it did. It did, but the author skipped over a major event when starting BEAST OF ALL and it takes a while to grasp the emotions that Andy is feeling because we are kinda just dumped into them. Having said that, BEAST OF ALL was pretty emotional. There is heartache, happy endings and every emotion in-between and not only on Andy's side. Even with a lot of the emotions being heavy, Andy was able to work through what she needed to to get things done and never gives up.

BEAST OF ALL had a lot of action and was heavy on the drama. There is a lot of things going on in BEAST OF ALL, but the flow is great and there wasn't one moment where I didn't want to keep reading instead of doing laundry or maybe feed my kids lol.  Another great thing about BEAST OF ALL is that it wrapped up everything. We get a lot of final answers and I can honestly say that I don't have any questions left over.

I would love to say that I wasn't surprised at how things ended for the Carus series, but in its own way, it all makes perfect sense. I'm glad I was able to follow Andy's journey and I look forward to seeing what J.C. McKenzie comes up with next!

I gave it 4/5 stars

* This book was provided free of charge from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Promo + Giveaway: Soul Keeper Series by L.A. Starkey – Box Set Sale!

Soul Keeper Series Box Set
L.A. Starkey
Original Price $6.99
On Sale from Oct 17 – 23 for only $0.99
The box set contains all three novels in the Soul Keeper Series (Deceived, Destroyed and Descent) 812 Pages. 
Barnes & Nobles -
Google Play -

Readers had a hard time putting this series down... you will to. Now you don't have to wait - the full story is yours for a discounted price.

This boxed set includes all three full-length novels from Starkey's beloved Soul Keeper Series. That's over 800 pages of intense twists and emotional turns, heart-breaking romance and soul-shattering deception - all in one series.

In a battle of wills,
of the gods of old.
For each his revenge,
will he forfeit his soul.

On the chessboard of blood,
will their narrative play.
Aged, innocent lives,
revenge claims her way.

Out of hate will come love,
and love will come hate.
For immortal and man,
have entwined their damned fate.

The battle between the Titans and the gods of old did not end with them. The demand for revenge has dripped down into the next generation.

Twins, Marcus and Nicolas, heirs to the throne of the gods and sons of the last remaining Titan, learn that the purpose of their existence is to fulfill a prophecy born of hate and despair. They must battle for Pandora's daughter's heart, a girl lost to the human world and unaware of her hidden heritage. For four hundred years Marcus and Nicolas have only been allowed to touch the edge of their soul mate's dreams, but the time of the prophecy has come.

For Samantha, life has been nothing more than a series of misfortunes and heartbreaks. For years, she has kept her heart locked away, but change is rolling in like a tidal wave. She is now forced to discern the thin line between love and lie, myth and reality, and it would seem that time is running out...

 "You have to read this book!!! AMAZING!!!!!!!! It's the best book I have read in a while. I love the characters, ALL of them even Hades." ~ Amazon Reader

"I was caught up with the story and characters from the beginning. Very action packed. Very descriptive..." ~ Amazon Reader

"I absolutely loved this series. It's fast paced with characters that you fall in love with." ~ Amazon Reader

"The first two books end in major emotionally charged cliffhangers so having the full box set is incredibly convenient." ~ Amazon Reader


L.A. Starkey is the author of the Soul Keeper Series, a supernatural young adult series, and The Liarus Detective Series, a supernatural middle grade series.

She is a fulltime writer, and loves spending time with her family and reading a good book. With more ideas than one person should be allowed, she is blessed to have a muse that doesn't seem to take a vacation and more energy that one might consider healthy.

She writes under the following pen name:
Kate Thomas - NA/Adult Paranormal (

Find L.A. Starkey and her books
Tour Wide