Thursday, August 25, 2016

Interview + Giveaway: All the Wounds in Shadow by Anise Eden

UFI welcomes Author Anise Eden. Thanks for Joining us!!

What can you tell my readers about yourself that they might not know from looking on your bio or reading in another interview?

I keep a running list of epitaphs to choose from when my time comes (hopefully not for another 50-60 years, but hey, I’m a planner). The current front runner is “NO REGERTS” (sic). I first saw it online in a photo of a tattoo, and think it would be brilliant chiseled in granite.

What do you enjoy doing on your down time?

I’m really into simple pleasures, like spending time with loved ones, especially over a good meal and a game of Scrabble. I’m also an avid reader and binge-watcher of Netflix. When I venture out, I gravitate toward live theater and music of all kinds.

What is your Favorite part of writing?

Can I pick two? ☺ The first part is when I’m “in the flow,” and the writing comes effortlessly. It’s almost like being in a meditative state. The second part is collaboration on editing. I absolutely love getting feedback and using it to shape my books into the best possible versions of themselves.

Do you have any certain routines you must follow as you write?

Until recently, I could only write while sitting at my desktop computer. Lately, though, I’ve been experimenting with semi-reclining on the couch or the bed with my laptop to write cozier, more romantic scenes. I still want to be at my desk, though, to write action scenes or more cerebral bits.

What are some of your Favorite books or Authors in the Urban Fantasy/ Paranormal Genres?

I find myself drawn to stories that, like The Healing Edge Series, blend the contemporary and the paranormal. I’ve been reading Kelley Armstrong’s Cainsville novels, Christine Feehan’s GhostWalker novels, and Rosanna Leo’s Gemini Island Shifter series. Two of my favorite books are by the authors who introduced me to urban fantasy/paranormal, Charlaine Harris’s Dead Until Dark and Diana Rowland’s My Life as a White Trash Zombie.

How would you pitch All the Wounds in Shadow and The Healing Edge Series to someone who has not heard of it before?

The Healing Edge Series blends the supernatural and the psychological, introducing a charismatic group of alternative healers as it follows main characters Cate and Ben on their journey through a tumultuous but tender romance.

Cate Duncan is a therapist who is struggling to cope after her mother’s death. Cate’s world is forever transformed in All the Broken Places when she learns that she is an empath and is recruited to work for the MacGregor Group, a clinic staffed by a unique group of paranormally gifted individuals.

In the sequel, All the Wounds in Shadow, Cate has just begun her paranormal training—and a romance with her knee-weakening new boss, Ben—when the MacGregor Group is called into action to help solve an attempted murder. An acclaimed neuroscientist has been poisoned. Cate and her colleagues must use their unique talents to unlock the victim’s mind, discovering who attacked him and why. But for Cate, the case reopens painful wounds and threatens to unravel her budding relationship with Ben. When an unexpected crisis hits, Cate must find the courage to trust completely in Ben’s heart and her friends’ gifts, or her own life will be in jeopardy.

Can you tell us a little bit about the world that All the Wounds in Shadow is set in?

Most of the book takes place just outside modern-day Washington, D.C. at a fictionalized version of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The NIH Clinical Center is an enormous building that I imagine it would be easy to get lost in—a fact our characters are counting on to keep their patient safe in All the Wounds in Shadow.

Do you have a favorite scene in All the Wounds in Shadow?

I have so many! If I had to pick one, though, it would be the scene in which all of the members of the MacGregor Group pull together to aid heroine Cate in dealing with a crisis. I can’t say more without giving away spoilers, but I love these vibrant characters and enjoy putting them in situations where their personalities come to life as they interact with one another.

Which one character out of all your books was your favorite to write about? What about the hardest to write about?

This is a hard question to answer, because I have such deep, genuine affection for all of my characters, and yet each has also presented me with unique challenges. My heroine and viewpoint character, Cate, might fit both bills, though. I really enjoy writing in her voice and through her perspective. At the same time, she goes through a lot of emotional ups and downs, so as the writer, I go through them with her. It’s also sometimes hard to let her make decisions that are true to her character when I know they might end in tears.

What Other Projects can we look forward to reading from you?

Right now, I’m working on edits for the third book in The Healing Edge Series, All the Light There Is, which will be released in Spring/Summer 2017. Thrown into a completely new setting full of mystery and intrigue, the MacGregor Group faces down an ominous threat while Cate and Ben struggle to protect one another while their relationship deepens. I’m excited about all of the ways in which the various threads from the first two books are weaving together, and I look forward to sharing this final installment with readers!

Author Anise Eden writes The Healing Edge paranormal romantic suspense series for Diversion Books. She spends most of her time tucked away in her writing nook imagining things that aren’t there. On those rare occasions when she emerges from seclusion, Anise may be spotted in coffee shops, staring at her laptop screen and silently moving her lips as she reviews bits of dialogue. Although Anise claims that she’s the one in charge, the characters in her head do sometimes make her laugh out loud at inappropriate moments.

Find Anise and her books

All the Wounds in Shadow
The Healing Edge #2
Amazon US Paperback Kindle Amazon UK Paperback
BN Paperback Nook Kobo iTunes
Google Play IndieBound Ganxy
For fans of Karen Robards and Shiloh Walker, Anise Eden brings us the mesmerizing sequel to her paranormal romantic suspense novel "All the Broken Places."

Cate's enemies aren't just surrounding her―they're inside her head.

Therapist Cate Duncan has just accepted a job with the MacGregor Group, a unique collective of alternative healers. She's excited by the prospect of honing her empathic healing techniques among others like herself -- aura readers, telepaths, crystal healers, and more. The fact that Cate just started dating Ben, her magnetic new boss, is an added bonus.

Before Cate can settle into her new routine, the poisoning of a prominent neuroscientist draws the entire MacGregor Group into both a federal investigation and an even more insidious threat. Protected by Ben's former Marine Corps unit, Cate and her colleagues must use their alternative healing methods to solve the crime as their patient clings to life.

The responsibility of discovering crucial information falls to Cate and her parapsychological powers. But for Cate, unraveling the mystery means reopening wounds that had just begun to heal -- and in the environment of the Marine Corps unit, differences between Cate and Ben become clearer, straining their budding romance. When a new crisis looms, Cate must trust in her colleagues' gifts and the strength of Ben's love, finding the courage to confront her deepest and most terrifying demons -- or her own life will be at risk.

Tour Wide

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. Thanks for the lovely mention, Anise, and congrats on your awesome release!

  2. Enjoyed the interview. Thanks for the chance.


Thanks for stopping by =)